Sunset

Sunset

If there was a song that could describe my bike ride, it would have to be The Midnight’s own “Sunset.” Take a listen below and go along with me here.

IMG_20170320_155455
Ready to ride in Newspaper City.

With the weather getting up in the 80s, NewRetroWave music blaring in my ears, and yellow glasses to boot – it was the perfect time to enjoy my surroundings.

The heat warming my body, the wind cooling it down. The cars passing me by, with me zooming past the pedestrians of St. Louis.

Man, it was freakin’ amazing today.

My usual path was clear. Traffic was minimal in some areas.

The only thing I have to complain about is the amount of debris on the road. I’ve got a mid-range bike.

I hate having to constantly swerve to avoid glass, nails, bumpers from cars, etc. That’s for another post.

I’m certain you don’t want to hear me gripe more about junk on the road.

Let’s go back, shall we? My route today was absolutely fantastic. That’s all I’m going to say.

It reminded me of my 5am bike rides in the summer.

History:

I got myself hooked on NewRetroWave music around June of last year. And I started to bike real early, making sure to bike at least twice a day. I really needed to lose more weight. I was 210lbs in January, and at 180lbs, I still wasn’t happy with myself.

I know it’s dangerous to bike so early, but it’s so peaceful to me. No one is going to judge me for attempting to exercise. And it clears my mind in the process.

Barely anyone is awake yet. The sun is beginning to rise, making way for a new day. It’s therapeutic to me. It’s my form of anti-depression.

I’m not really depressed. I have my moments. When I feel like my world is crashing around me, I’ll go out and bike.

I come back level-headed and ready to start the day.

I think it has paid off. I went from 180lbs to a comfortable range of 160-165lbs. I now go to the gym at least four days a week. Not to be fit, but to get all my anger out. Keeps me sane.

Anyway, here’s a dorky selfie of me with my babe (my bike.)

I’ll try to keep this blog updated.  I might even tape my phone to my head to record my biking adventures in the future. 🙂

IMG_20170320_163527
I’m built for the 80s.
Leave a Reply

